Every moment, every day…


IMG_8939

I live by HOPE every moment of every day.  I don’t live by statistics or mathematical reason ever.  I say that as statistically the world will eat my children up and spit them out.  I refuse to allow that. So I live by hope and I work every day for something better.  A place or a way for my children to be accepted and integrated into the world.  I enjoy each moment knowing that for many of my children the future is so tenuous.  I know after each medical scare I hug them all a little tighter and a little longer.

Recently I have been working with a group on the issues present in Whiteclay, NE.  In this work I have been called naive and many other fun names.  I guess many would like to say that as the issue is so big and shutting down Whiteclay won’t solve it we should just leave it be.  Hmmm.  I call this blatant ignorance.  So if you are in a boat and there are 100 holes should you not start patching them one by one to stop sinking or simply stand by and say “wow there are just too many holes.  I shall just sit in my boat and watch it sink.”  Hmm again I say this is pure ignorance.  You start with the first hole and work your way through bailing as you go so you stay afloat!  It is fairly dang simple to me.  I deal with issues for my household every day that go the same dang way.  If taken as a whole it is overwhelming so I take a piece at a time and work on that until it is all worked through and guess what?  This method works every dang time.  So I shall continue on my quest to see Whiteclay shut down.  I do this knowing it is not the end of addictions or FASD.  I know this but it makes it no less important of a mission!

Some say that the blame lies with the people of Pine Ridge.  They say that they have lost their culture and this is the underlying issue.  Others say that the white man brought liquor and it has poisoned the people and this is the issue.  Perhaps both sides are right.  I do say we cannot look back at that and get lost in the blame issue.  Let’s look at the fact that there is much to be done and stop making people choose sides. Let’s all just do what is right and work toward a solution. I refuse to get lost in why my children have FASD.  It is.  Now it is what can be done to provide life long supports that will work. What can I do to raise awareness and build systems for them to live in?

Just 2 days ago we were once again in the position of almost losing our doodlebug.  He again was a brave boy and went into surgery.  He came out and is doing well.  He added to his battle scar collection and spent his hospital stay worrying how others were doing as is his usual.  Doodlebug is who teaches and models hope to me.  He has a spirit that just loves everyone he meets.  He wouldn’t even understand the conflict that surrounds the issues of addiction, FASD and Whiteclay, NE.  He would struggle to understand why people get mad at each other.  He helps me to enjoy and to treasure every moment and every day.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Childhood Mental Health Issues, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Foster Care, legal system, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Every moment, every day…

  1. One hole to plug is the addiction. If it is no longer profitable, White Clay will die its own death.

Leave a Reply

