Into the fray…


I have not slept much.  Just thinking of the day ahead.  Today in Whiteclay for the first time we will  present to an audience about Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) at a professional conference.  For once I am not a speaker but an observer and organizer.  I can sit back and watch…the best of the best are here to present and educate.  I cannot say what this will mean to me.  I know I have a ton of emotions about it.

For so long it has felt as though so many would speak of how awful it is that Whiteclay is here and how it is an atrocity what is going on there but they did nothing.  For so long as a parent of children affected by this place it felt like no one really cared what was going on or not enough to speak up or act.  Today begins the journey of bringing people together in that place to discuss the affects of alcohol and pregnancy, of addiction and childbirth, of trauma and hopelessness.  I posted about slaying dragons but see for once I am not alone.

Another amazing mom and her non-profit came alongside my non-profit to get this going.  The speakers all came knowing we had no budget for them.  All are here because they also believe that it is time to take up the gauntlet to say this is enough.  So today we go happily into the fray as a group and not as a lone mom.

For now I say wopila.  I hope to bring much news as the days go on.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Childhood Mental Health Issues, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Foster Care, legal system, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

