Why Awareness? FASD awareness Day….


Tonight as I tuck in the “crew” I am reflecting on this past year.  So much has happened and while much has been good there has been some definite hard times.  Living with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder is hard.  It is often the giant elephant in the room…yet honestly so few even know about it.  I pray that tomorrow on FASD awareness day the message reaches even one person.  Maybe that person will pass along what they learn.  If every person who knows about FASD even reached one more person some day we would reach the whole world.

I am the proud mama to 11 special kids.  My children have come to our home under many different circumstances and have all had their own journey’s but all of their lives started with the fact that they were prenatally exposed to alcohol.  I love my children and do not want to change them but if I could take away their struggles because of FASD I would do it in an instant.  Some struggle with emotional and behavioral issues while others struggle more with the medical issues but they all struggle. 

I pray that some day no more children will be born exposed to alcohol.  I read about all of the people who think that FASD is a joke or a myth.  I wish they could spend even one day in one of my children’s shoes.  That they could have to lay through constant medical interventions.  Being poked daily for blood draws, fed through a G tube, unable to participate in activities due to heat intolerance…Or never fitting in.  Feeling different and a failure but not knowing why.  I know that my children are true warriors…they fight by the minute to find acceptance and peace within themselves.  They are braver than I think I could ever be.  I pray that my children’s lives will influence others to realize how important it is to abstain from alcohol while you could get pregnant or are pregnant.  Remember zero for nine is the only safe plan!!!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Awareness? FASD awareness Day….

  1. Sara says:

    I am really interested to read this blog. I have just started blogging about FASD here in the UK and what I come up against time after time is a total lack of awareness of the impact of it – on everyone concerned. Awareness is so important! (meetingjake.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

