New Beginnings in the FASD world…


In the new year everyone begins to make resolutions.  They think of all of the things that they want to change.  I wonder while we look at our money, our weight, etc. whether we will ever look at our drinking?  As a society we operate under the premise that to have fun or to enjoy ourselves we have to drink.  I used to really enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine.  I have to say that I can no longer really enjoy these as it just makes me think of how that substance can change lives.

I think it is amazing how much we have learned about how prenatal alcohol exposure can affect a developing fetus.  Yet the percentage of people who are drinking during the years they can conceive is growing and not shrinking.  That is what is so confusing.  There is some incredible research that is irrefutable and yet people call Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder a myth.  I know hundreds of parents who would tell you how they know this is not a myth.  We live every day with children and adults who suffer due to their exposure in utero.

I think that watching a child suffer due to something that they had no control over is one of the hardest things ever.  This year our youngest has fought through so many things.  She was born exposed.  She has suffered every day with feeding issues, breathing issues, neurological issues, etc.  She is just one baby….I know of others who are fighting even more significant issues.  The sad part is that these issues were preventable.  I have 10 older children who were all affected by prenatal exposure.  They are all different but they are all struggling due to this exposure.

I pray for new beginnings.  I feel like if we could all make a resolution for the new year of just discovering how much fun we can have with no alcohol.  I know my children have fun every day and they don’t need this.  They help me to see the joy in every day life.  Today we got to just spend time together and how precious that is.  I pray for everyone to discover what FASD is…how it affects people and how important it is to educate others.  I would like it if everyone would tell one person about Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD).  If that happened soon everyone would know.  Maybe in the new year everyone would even hear!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Beginnings in the FASD world…

  1. Sarah Irvine says:

    So very well said!!! I for one have the occaisanal drink however, the whole time i feel guilty for doing this because i know i am not practicing what i preach .. however, I am past the “reproductive years ” or at least done something to prevent this from happening. Like weight, addiction and everything else we are constantly battleing ourselves with what ifs etc.. I think if you are in a healthy atmosphere and alchol is talked about openly and honestly with not only our FASD children but also others it does make a difference. Education is key. Just like repeat repeat with our FASD children the same goes for our public..

    Thanks for always making me think beyond my boundaries and looking at things differently 🙂

    Sarah xo

  2. Priyanka V says:

    You make such a great point!. I do not drink, nor will I ever. I cannot even stand the smell of alcohol, and I am 19 years old. Your post really caught my attention!  I think that what most people don’t realize is that these kids have brain damage because of the alcohol/substance abuse. They have anger fits and behavioral problems. Some parents are too imprudent to realize that it is their fault and blame the children for being ugly or dumb. Many of these children go through life not knowing what is wrong with them, why they can’t cope with normal life stresses and are horribly bullied. Due to their vulnerability, some FAS children are sexually abused because their parents were rubbish to begin with. A number of FAS children end up as criminals and some are convicted for serious crimes. Children do best if diagnosed early and referred to a team of providers who can work with their families on educational and behavioral strategies that best fit the individual child’s needs. I saw a video in class about this… how mothers are handling their children who were diagnosed with FAS. Some of these mothers had no clue that drinking alcohol during their pregnancy would result with this. I agree with the previous post, that education is the key. Openly talking about this with others might prevent women who want to become mothers from doing this.

    • fasmom says:

      These children are very likely to be victimized. They do need all the support and help they can get. That is also the problem that so many of these kids do end up in prison. Our oldest son is there also as he did not have early enough interventions. The more we can get the word out about FASD the more likely we are to make a difference in the prevention of this disorder.

Leave a Reply

