Long time between posts


I have really struggled lately with blogging.  I very much miss it but also have been struggling with a positive message.  I watch as more and more negative messages are posted about FASD (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder) people.  The message of 100 percent preventable is a negative one to women needing/wanting to come forward to ask for help for their children.  I know that this is a disorder that can only come about by the fetus being exposed to alcohol so technically this is true but with the way things are in our society it seems that perhaps that percentage of preventability might be a bit lower.  Until we can deal with how much alcohol is used in our society as the only way to have fun or “enjoy yourself” we will not truly get a high percentage of preventability.  Then there is the fact that so many people still do not believe that a glass “once in a while” is a problem or even those who think that FASD is a myth.  These are the challenges that still face us all and we have to find a way to keep plugging even when we feel down.  I am back…I guess for good or bad I am here to raise my voice again.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long time between posts

  1. I’m so glad that you’re back!! I miss your blog whether it’s “positive” or “negative”. That’s life with FAS…the good , the bad and the ugly:) Much love….

Leave a Reply

