Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Awareness Day


Today we will try to get out the word that there is NO safe amount of alcohol consumption during pregnancy!  We are a community of people who see the effects of prenatal alcohol exposure every day.  We see it in the struggles of our children, spouses or our selves.  We know that we have to continue to raise our voices no matter how small they may seem at times.  The facts are that FASD (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder) is more common then Down Syndrome, Spina Bifida, Muscular Dystrophy COMBINED and yet most people do not even know what it is! It is more common than Autism a syndrome that is in the news every day.  Do you see any celebrity endorsements on FASD?  Even today on the day of Awareness? 

So we cry out to get any attention for a cause that seems to be continuing to be swept under the rug.  Our society continues to deny a syndrome that was discovered over 40 years ago!  No one wants to face how much alcohol harms our society.  We have lots of shows about intervention on illegal drugs but how many on the fact that the legal drug of alchol is more deadly than any of those drugs!  We don’t want to face that our society is so dependent on alcohol.  When fun is described it is with alcohol…but drink responsibly.  What is drinking responsibly???  I am not trying to preach that alcohol is evil but I am sad that we won’t give it up to ensure the health of our children. 

Is it not worth it to abstain while trying to get pregnant, while pregnant and while breastfeeding???  When I look into my children’s eyes I know they were worth it but unfortunately this message did not reach their moms in time.  They did not get this protection and they pay for it every day of their lives.  I cry thinking that I read just yesterday posts on the CDC site that this FASD myth was just to control pregnant women.  FASD IS  NOT  A MYTH!  Anyone who thinks it is is more than welcome to come to my house…spend the day.  Then go forward and try to believe that it makes no difference to a child, a person, a human life!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Awareness Day

  1. Chris Branden says:

    Walk one day in the life of my daughter! Try being in her mind! Wake up!!

  2. Sarah Irvine says:

    SO TRUE!!!!! way to go 🙂 and yes i would love to invite the teachers here to see what my daughter is like and that it is not my parenting skills!!!! UGH

  3. Jill says:

    I have a neighbor that I have grown up with, and love very dearly I might add, that is afflicted with this syndrome also. I wonder all of the time what her life would be like now if her mother could of just held off, just for 9 months, while her child was in her womb. I completely understand what you’re saying and these people have obviously never truly met somebody with this disorder. Well guess what??….. they should try it sometime. They might come to the considerably reasonable conclusion that THIS IS NOT SOME SORT OF MYTH! I’ not asking them to believe in zombies, c’mon.

  4. Kayla says:

    I love and respect this blog. I have to say that in my experience Drinking alcohol is not something that is taken lightly during pregnancy. Maybe it is my location, maybe it is my peer group but I believe it is the standard to drink absoutely no alcohol during pregnancy. I am saddened to hear that this is not the case everywhere. I don’t think I have ever met anyone who thinks it is ok. Hopefully this is the case everywhere soon.

    • fasmom says:

      I pray for the day Kayla that people everywhere will feel that they cannot drink while pregnant. It is wonderful to hear that in your location that is true. I hope that this continues to spread as there is no safe amount and those of us living with children and adults who have been forever affected know how important this message is. Thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

