We will build it!!! Oh yes we can!


Created by User:Fcb981

Image via Wikipedia

Okay so often only the absolute negatives or the painful struggles of Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD).  I want to talk about the wonderful inventiveness of a person with FASD.  Just like a person with autism may have a savant ability so do people who have the brain damage associated with prenatal alcohol exposure.  I am often amazed at the incredible artistic abilities of some of the people I have met.  Some of the people I have met are incredible with animals or writing or so many things.  I want to share a few stories that have made me so incredibly amazed and given me a laugh or two also.

I have a wonderful friend who is a great mother to some amazing little people.  These little people can build things that rattle my brain.  The boys in question designed a complex bow by using pine branches, baler twine, lego wheels and screws.  Well living in the pine trees on a small ranch they have plenty of pine branches and baler twine.  The issues came with the lego wheels and screws.  They found a fair number of lego wheels but then the search came for screws.  Their mom heard lots of muffled voices out front and wondered exactly what was going on.  Anyone who knows will know that when you have a group of inventive boys who are between the ages of 11 and 6 who also happen to have FASD if something is going on it could be a problem.

I need to give you a bit of background.  This house is situated on a hill and sits about 4 feet off the ground.  So there are decks that you walk up onto to walk into the house.  As the mom walked out onto the deck she realized the boys were right below her.  She quickly and quietly snuck up on the boys and realized they all had screw drivers.  They had found their screws!!  The only issue is that they were disassembling the deck in order to make their bows!!

I want to add quickly that these bows worked.  They worked amazingly.  The nice thing is once their parents realized they needed screws they were able to show them where there were some that were not attached to the deck.  The other thing is that the idea of the arrow had to be safely explored:-D

I have a child who can draw like you would not believe.  I have one who can read incredibly well.  I think we so often forget that there are gifts too.  I know on hard days that I forget at times that while there are struggles there are also blessings.

Another quick story is about a boy who decided to make a turkey trap.  He was a very young man and so his parents were thinking okay whatever have fun building the trap.  No one ever really expected that he would get it done much less that he would catch anything.  So as the afternoon wore down he gathered many supplies and then all of a sudden up the hill ran a pack of young boys yelling “what do we do with the turkey?”  So the parents thought hmm wonder what he caught?  Well to their surprise it was a huge tom turkey.  They took a few pics and then set him free none the worse for wear.  However when he next wanted to make a trap they decided maybe he shouldn’t.

I guess what I want to really say is sometimes as all of the energy goes into trying to put out fires (literally and figuratively) we forget to see the rainbows.  So often we have to fight for everything for our children we just lose energy and focus.  We also deal with behaviors and health (mental and physical) issues that can become overwhelming.  At times we just lose sight of all of the amazing things in our lives also.  I know I count my blessings tonight.  I know that we have issues but my children are alive they are doing well.  Yes we have had our issues but we are still here and still a family.  We have met some wonderful people across our journey and I cannot truly tell anyone I would have missed one mile along the way.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Childhood Mental Health Issues, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Foster Care, legal system, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We will build it!!! Oh yes we can!

  1. Chris Branden says:

    So so true! Yes, we have to fight but we also get to love and watch as they grow into amazing people.

  2. Jacquie Goad says:

    Thank you, such wonderful stories. My son with FAS is a voracious reader! He devours books and this keeps him busy when I need it and disciplined when I have to. I know taking AWAY reading may seem counter productive but he hates to lose his books!! He is also a piano prodigy. We were given a piano three years ago. We saved up to have it tuned and that school year {I home school} I purchased the very most basic set of piano books and began teaching him. I play clarinet so I understand music. We worked through that first set and then a second set the next year. He also has an electric piano in his room and he discovered it plays music while displaying the corresponding notes. He taught himself one movement of “Fur Elise”. Imagine my surprise when he came out and said “Hey mom, listen to what I can play”!! He requested the rest of it so I purchased it online and printed it out. He taught himself all five movements in about three weeks. He plays by memory!! We then hired a private piano teacher and he has really blossomed. In his words “Playing calms my mind” I have to admit it does to mine as well; when he plays, I cry. He has gotten brave enough to play for our church as well as one of my older sons church. You just never know what a child can do until they are exposed. Thank God for the kind neighbor!! J

  3. vimax pills says:

    This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

Leave a Reply

