Just a day!


So it was just a day.  Just a normal day in the summer.  Today we put up hay and had people over who were helping us to get this done.  We had our normal hired hand and then a couple who also have a large family of children affected by prenatal exposure to alcohol.  We have 9 (with 8 at home) and they have 8 with them all at home.  It is so fun to have them over and to watch the kids interact.  Today their 6 boys and our oldest went to the hay field with my hubby.  The result was over 500 square bales put up so all in all a great day.  My friend spent the day with me and the rest of the kids.

I know so many people go oh my 16 kids and 16 kids with FASD (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder).  I have to say that they were awesome.  It was great.  I got to celebrate my birthday and the kids got to have a great day playing.  The thing that is great is that when you get children who are all affected the same there are very few problems.  I know last year we had the annual FASD picnic and we had over 80 children.  The only issue is that one child got a skinned knee and needed a band-aid.  Other than that the day was completely worry free.  I think the important thing to say is that it is so hard not to get caught up in the issues that can be associated with FASD and forget that each day is truly just a day.  So let’s enjoy our days!!!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a day!

  1. Sarah Irvine says:

    Nora you are inspiring !!! i have a tough time just dealing with one who is fas let alone all of yours 🙂 you inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

