always feeling different


There are times that I worry so much.  Just little things seem to add up and begin to make me feel awful.  Then I look at how happy baby A is all the time and the fact that no matter what is going on doodlebug is happy.  Sometimes I wonder if it would be really nice to live in their world.  I think the hardest thing then is to look at how hard life is for my children who are higher functioning.  I seriously was upset when the doctor told me we were lucky doodlebug was so low functioning.  I really thought at the time that he was a total idiot.  I now really do understand that for some of my children they will never have to deal with some of the pitfalls associated with being prenatally exposed to alcohol or with having Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD).

I cannot imagine how hard it must be to always feel like you don’t fit in.  I know that the older my children get and especially with my child who is actually now a man.  I want to make them feel like they are more than okay but the issue is really they don’t want their mom to be the one saying that they are fine.  They want the world to see them as okay.  This is something that we as moms cannot fix.  How do we help society see that different doesn’t mean wrong?  How do we help society see that if they would slow down and explain our FASD population can still contribute and sometimes some very amazing things?

Is it any wonder that self-esteem becomes such an issue with people affected by FASD.  This is where if there is any way to educate a group of peers in the person’s life on FASD and help them to help the person affected by FASD to take part in activities appropriately.  This will begin putting into place the framework for the external brain.  This can be a positive in everyone’s life.  It puts into place positives for the person and also sets up a safe environment.

 

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Childhood Mental Health Issues, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Foster Care, legal system, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to always feeling different

  1. mrbeansmom says:

    How timely. Just had a transition meeting today for one of mine with FAS. Have been dealing with so many of these same issues and feelings…

Leave a Reply

