Letting off the steam


Wow I cannot believe it is almost June.  Due to flooding here I never got a garden in or anything yet.  We have had such terrible storms here that we have sure had a lot of damage to our home.  Sometimes it gets so frustrating to have to deal with things that aren’t working correctly.  Hmmm…I think of my frustration on the days lately where appliances and other things here are not functioning well.  I feel crazy at times.  Then I think of the daily struggle of individuals who are dealing with FASD (Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder) and I realize that this is the frustration they have.  This is what we are seeing when our children can seem angry, sullen and defiant.  That attitude of “who cares I will screw it up anyway.”

It is easy to look at this at a time when I am calm.  I know though for those of us who are dealing with the attitudes and issues that do come up (oh especially at puberty) it is that much harder.  I know that in talking to other parents they talk of the fatigue and hopelessness that unfortunately can definitely leak in.  Those are the times when we have to find a way to just let off steam.  In talking to a dad recently who is dealing with just anger at what his child is going through and the fact that he is struggling with how to release this safely and effectively.  He decided to look into getting a punching bag.  We talked about his need to just literally let it loose.  This is a very great idea of letting off physical steam.  We all know that at some point we have to let the steam off of our kettles or we are gonna boil over.  So I guess my question to others who are struggling with the stress of a life where not everything ever runs smoothly is what can you do or are you doing to let off your steam?  I am challenging people to share their ideas.  I think we can all learn from each other and perhaps help each other out by sharing.  Thank you for reading!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Childhood Mental Health Issues, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Foster Care, legal system, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

