so easy to forget


Gosh it is so easy to forget just how completely literal my kids are.  I also can so easily forget that they struggle to understand most concepts.  Today it was put right back in my face.  We were all diagnosed with strep.  Now until I pointed out that my throat hurt no one else’s did.  So does that mean they are all just saying it because I am or just because they now noticed it?  Well the positive strep tests would say that I just helped them realize that they are also suffering.  Kids with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome or anything on the Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder can have a hard time getting those internal messages that tell when we are sick.  So they don’t always know what is wrong with themselves.  So now that they noticed their throats hurt there was a lot of concern over when they would feel better.  We started our antibiotics and there was a lot of worry over why the meds weren’t working.  So to try to help them understand when it would start working we said that the meds wouldn’t be able to work until Sunday.  So the next thing we heard is “well if they won’t work until sunday why don’t we wait until then to take the meds?”  At first I wasn’t quite sure what they meant and then I got it.  We said they would start working sunday so it was like it was no good until then.  This was that literal and concrete thinking again.

So now here we remain with our sore throats and the long wait until they begin to feel better.  I hate how hard it is for my kids to understand why they don’t feel well.  So many things are hard for them and this is just one more thing that becomes hard.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Childhood Mental Health Issues, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Foster Care, Reactive Attachment Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to so easy to forget

  1. I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a Reply

