Forever my child…forever my friend


How many of us get so tired of our moms forgetting we are adults?  I know there are times I get so sick of mine treating me like a child.  That is until I am sick or feeling down and call her and wish I was a little girl again.  I can get upset with her doing this but then I realize how much it truly means to me that I know she is always there. 

It is always hard as a parent to let go and let our children grow up.  When dealing with FASD this becomes so much harder as our kids/adults need someone to be their external brain.  We have to balance supporting them with being overly protective.  We also have to ignore the outside world and do what is best for our person with FASD.  We know much better than anyone else what our person needs and they are able to tell us too.  Sometimes it can be hard as our help is not appreciated.  I do know as a parent that no one ever wished they had supervised less but I do know that there are a lot of parents who wish they had supervised more.  I am one of them.  I allowed the world to tell me that my son who was 17 should be given the freedoms every other person that age has.  I did it and when he was 18 he was put in prison for getting involved with someone he never should have been involved with. 

It is so hard to balance the whole being over protective versus being their external brain.  I know at times now I am a bit on the over protective side, especially since our oldest son and his experience.  I am working now on being his friend as he is getting older.  Trying to understand the balance he needs right now.  The one thing I know is that he is forever my child and I will forever be his Mother and I will try to be a friend.

Keep going to all the Moms out there and remember to take care of yourself.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

