School Struggles


Saturday and the wind is lightly blowing.  I am enjoying being able to hang out the laundry on the line.  It is finally warming up and the ground may some day dry up enough to not have to worry about having kids outside.  I am counting days until school is out for the year.  Again I feel as if I am in a battle to get the school to understand the needs of my children.  They are all so unique and so wonderful but they do need accomodations at school.  It is so hard to get people to see that when the right accomodations are made FASD children can and do succeed.  It is frustrating as heck to have to fight for each and every little thing for a child. 

It is hard as the school system is not set up to deal with some of the issues that come up with FASD.  I am hoping that as we as a society learn more about FASD we will be able to come up with a better system for our kids.  I know that Deb Evensen has been working with Alaska to come up with a curriculum and training for teachers to be able to help FASD students succeed.  I hope that perhaps this work will come down into the lower states.

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to School Struggles

  1. Chris Branden says:

    I am going to try and change this through Healthy Brains for Children. It’s time to educate the educators! I’m so sick and tired of how our Damaged Angels are treated by “teachers” who don’t have a clue! I am more determined than ever, now! Blessings to you and thank you for your wonderful blog!! Chris

Leave a Reply

