Mud bugs


I love spring.  Spring is when all life begins on a ranch.  Getting to watch the birth of all of the lambs, goat kids and calves is such a joy.  My kids love this time of year too.  The thing they like is also my worst part of spring, mud!  J is called to the mud.  He cannot help it, if it is there he must roll in it and get it between his toes and fingers.  When he is caught in it up to his neck and something is said he immediately looks down at himself to inquire “What?  Am I in the mud?”  He is always greatly surprised to realize that yes in fact he is in the mud and he does have to go in now. 

I think of everything my children have taught me it is patience and joy.  To see joy in the fact that J who has struggled so much can take such joy out of mud which I see only as one more thing to deal with.  I look at it as the thing that makes my house messy and gets my van stuck in the driveway.  He sees it as the ooshy gooshy good stuff he loves to have on his body.  I really do wish that I could see it as an enjoyable commodity like he does.  I do know that if we do not sit back and try to enjoy our lives (any life not just an FASD one) we won’t.  I guess what I am learning is it really is a choice.  We cannot choose how our children are affected but we can choose how we deal with it.  We can choose how we move forward and how we raise them.  We can choose to either let it knock us down or if we raise our voice instead.  I have met some incredible people in my journey lately.  People who inspire me.  Birthmoms who are calling out for help to stop this birth defect.  Adults living with FASD who want people to see them as the successes they are not as someone who is less than (because they are NOT.)  Let’s all choose to move forward in a positive way and see all the wonderful things we can accomplish!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mud bugs

  1. Chris Branden says:

    I am a Birth Mom. I do not care what anyone thinks of me, any more. I now know that my own ignorance caused my child to be born a Damaged Angel. The reason for sharing this is because it’s time to move on and just raise awareness!
    I love the way you write:) Every time you are spot on. Thank you for forgiving us and being our voice, while some of us had to find our own voice. With much love, Chris

    • fasmom says:

      Chris-
      I look at this as the fact that it needs to stop being about shame and blame. The fact is people seem to act like FASD doesn’t matter. Well it does. I am tired of people acting like to “fix it” we have to punish someone. Not true. We need to be able to talk about this stuff and I guess I also want to point out that while life can be hard at times in the FASD world there are so many joys and so much that is good. I hear so much of the negative. I love how open you are Chris and I feel like you are going to help people see what is important. Our damaged angels are here and we have to help the world understand them and also why alcohol can be so damaging.

Leave a Reply

