Let it snow let it snow!


Tonight I am watching as we get more snow.  At least the wind isn’t blowing…usually I end up sharing my bed with everyone when it is.  Funny how the echo of the wind can truly rile up most of my FASDers.

It is getting closer to Christmas and for once we are having relatively few emotional blowups.  D has had the hardest time.  He is at an age where he is struggling with being diagnosed as FAS and as he says just being “different”.  He wants to be told that when he grows up he will be like everyone else.  I wish that for this christmas I could grant that wish but I can’t.  We continue to talk about how he may be differently abled but he is still a wonderful, funny and smart guy.  He says he hates me for telling him he has FAS.  I suppose at times he does.  His hardest blow came this week when our suspicions were confirmed that he is showing the symptoms of another birth gift he was given.  He is now showing shizophrenic tendencies.  He is struggling so hard but is truly paranoid and sure that people are out to hurt him.  I lay awake at night some times and just pray for the right path to open up for him.  For all of our little miracles who may be different but are still people who just want to be able to have a safe and important role in this world.  I pray that with education and help our society will begin to see the positives in FASD individuals instead of only looking at their “shortfalls”.

In our community we are beginning to see more educational opportunities about FASD now the issue is getting the right people there and get them to listen.  For all of you raising special children remember you may be the only voice they have at times.  Keep shouting…our kids will someday be our adults.  They need help to have people see them, not their labels or their issues but them.  My son may be struggling but under it all he is still this wonderful boy who wants so bad to fit in.  To have people see him and not his behaviors.  One of the saddest things is when he said “why bother trying to fit in.  I always screw it up and I don’t even know what I have done.”  Gosh I don’t want him to give up.  We work daily on not giving up but I am only one voice and there are so many others who may not be giving the right messages.

Hope everyone is enjoying their holidays.  Let it snow and have a great Christmas!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

