Holidays…memories


I don’t know about the rest of the world but for children who have been traumatized the holidays can be a really hard time.  I know for my children with FASD the overstimulation of it all makes for some hard days.  They are so excited and want so badly for everything to go well and try so hard.  I watch as they do everything possible to keep it together but emotionally it is so hard.  It has made us look at traditions and what is really important about holidays.  I used to love to decorate but have now realized that is not important.  What is important is family.  I want my kids to feel happy.  Now we realize that lots of new decorations cause sensory over stim in our kids.  I recently gave away a lot of things.  I don’t miss them.  Others think we don’t celebrate christmas or thanksgiving.  Well we do and we enjoy them the best way we can.  We are now minimalists and you know it is okay.  I still get to watch my kids enjoy their presents on Christmas morning…we only bring out a couple at a time and wait until they have explored it to their hearts content before introducing anything else.  I thought at first they could never enjoy holidays…I used to think it was bad memories from bad times…now I know it is more that it is just too darn much.

So don’t give up on holidays or making memories with your family.  It is possible with FASD to have a great life…just different than perhaps you did it before but still great.  I love the holidays again and now we actually remember what they are about instead of worrying about lights we get to just love each other and celebrate that.

Don’t forget no matter what the child’s issues they are still a child.  They still want to have special family times.  Perhaps it needs to be done differently but it can still be done.

Happy Thanksgiving and looking forward to a Merry Christmas!!

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

