Life in the FASDlane


Years ago I knew almost nothing about FAS or FASD as is now the newer acronym.  I dreamed of being a mom of starting a family.   I never really had an idea of what would come.  After years of infertility and miscarriages it seemed everywhere we looked we saw ads about the need for foster homes and adoptive homes.  Soon we were on the journey to becoming licensed to foster.  Before we knew it we were a full foster home (went from no children to 6 within a couple months!)  We took children who had medical issues and who were a bit harder to place.  Thus began the journey into learning what FASD (fetal alcohol spectrum disorder) was.

We now have 9 children who all have FASD.  We also have children with the associated medical issues.  It is a blessing to have these wonderful people in our lives but has truly at times taken us places I  never expected!  I hope you will join me as I tell you a bit more about our lives and also on what we have learned along the way.  It won’t be boring I can promise you that.

 

About fasmom

The adoptive mom to 12 wonderful children who are affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and other issues including Reactive Attachment Disorder, bipolar, schizophrenia, CP, epilepsy and oh the list goes on...The thing is these children have taught me things about myself I never knew and would not have missed out on learning. Married to an amazing man and enjoying life on a sheep ranch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life in the FASDlane

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Kellie says:

    I have just finished reading all your posts, lost sleep doing so but well worth the loss! We have a son, now eleven turning twelve this May. We have had him since a babe; knew the mother, knew she used what ever drug and drink she could get ahold of. I can’t take my eyes off him as he is very distructive and sneaky. Having said, we feel we have a good foundation now; we have overcome (prevent, redirect, work through) so much. Yet, I need more information about the puberty years…just around the corner for us. You had posted about hormones going wild and such, can you tell me more? What should I be looking for? I want to be prepared as much as possible because the more we are ready, the better we can help our Lucas.
    Kellie

Leave a Reply

